It’s that time again.  Time to start digging through the catalog to figure out my “best” or as I like to say “favorite” images of 2016.  This year I feel like I’ve had a pretty decent year photographically.  For those of you who don’t know, I travel for business and as a recovering photographer who spent nearly 20 years in the business I carry a camera with me everywhere.  In 2016 I visited 26 states and somewhere north of 50 cities for my job and in almost every location I found some images that I like a lot.  This year it’s difficult to narrow the choices down to just 5 or 10 but I’m going to try.  So let’s dig in:

20160308-dsc01307

While walking around Seattle near Pioneer Square I came across this image.  I liked the symmetry of the pottery and, of course, the colors.

 

20160513-DSC01570

In May we took a family trip to Washington, D.C.  I had been there a couple of times for business and was astounded by the Memorials.  In this case we’re looking from the base of the Washington Monument towards the WWII Memorial and down the reflecting pool to the Lincoln Memorial.

 

20160512-dsc01527

While in D.C. we took a river cruise down the Potomac to Mount Vernon.  On the way back I saw this Great Blue Heron flying down river towards us and after a quick lens change I was able to catch him.

 

20160328-img_2768

In March I always try to visit my daughter who lives in Phoenix and take in some spring training baseball.  I also take the time to wander through the desert with my camera and while everyone is looking at the grand view of the Cacti I always look for details.  Like this one of a Barrel Cactus.

 

20160928-dsc01821

Later in the year I was able to visit White Sands in southern New Mexico.  I had been there before when my daughter was going to college in Roswell but hadn’t been back for a while. It was a great opportunity to show that even on a dull overcast day there is still color.

 

20160713-dsc01648-edit

September found me in Santa Rosa for business meetings and I couldn’t resist heading over to Bodega Bay to channel my inner Ansel.

 

20160713-dsc01686

On the way back to Santa Rosa from Bodega Bay I was treated to a nice sunset but waited till the blue hour to make this exposure.  Again, when it appears there is no color, don’t believe your eyes.  Believe your camera.

 

20161028-img_2965-edit

I’d been to the Columbia Gorge in the spring and in the winter but this time I had meetings in Portland in October and spent an extra day knocking around the Gorge.  The weather was a bit sketchy but I did manage to fine some trees in the fog.

 

20161029-dsc02018

After a day of being rained on the weather Gods smiled on me and gave me a beautiful sunset over the Columbia River.

 

20161027-dsc01965

Maybe because I have bad ankles and can roll an ankle on a crack in the sidewalk, I’m constantly looking down occasionally to see where my feet are going.  That’s a good trait to have as a photographer.  If not for looking down I’d miss scenes like this one at the Portland Japanese Gardens.

 

20161026-img_2954

No trip to Portland is complete without a trip to the Japanese Gardens and in the fall the Tea Leaf Maples are amazing.

 

20161213-dsc02169-edit

Finally, to make it a full dozen, this may be the last image I capture this year.  I found it just 3 days ago while driving to lunch in Portland.  I drove past this small little creek, maybe 3 feet across at it’s widest point and thought “I bet there are some nice images to be had there.”  After my meetings were over I went back with the cameras and found this image.

So there it is, my 12 favorite images from 2016.  It’s been a good year and I had a difficult time narrowing it down to just 12.  Some of my very favorite images didn’t make the cut like the image of the Portland Head Light in Portland, ME.  And a fall image of Emerald Falls in the Gorge.  But, hey, I have to stop somewhere.  So enjoy these and let me know if you have any questions on how or where any of the images were made.  Merry Christmas and Happy New Year everyone!  See you next year!

 

 

 

