I’m going to be a bit hypocritical just now.  In my most recent blog I wrote that forest fires should be left to burn.  I still believe that but in this case I’m going to make an exception.  There’s a fire burning in northern Colorado right now and if it’s not controlled soon it’s going to get really really ugly.

Driving home to Denver from the Tetons today, we first saw the smoke plume when we were about 50 miles west of Laramie on I-80.  I had seen an image of the smoke plume yesterday on a photo bulletin board but it was pretty small and the image was pretty artistic.  Seeing it in person today when the wind is blowing in excess of 40mph I realize it’s blown up from yesterday and has become a devastating fire.

In my college days I fought forest fires and it’s dirty dangerous work.  For now we all need to say a prayer for all the men and women on the fireline and all the folks who have been forced to evacuate their homes.

We made it down Hwy 287 to the Owl Canyon road before encountering the road block and were able to watch the thing blow up.

Driving through the smoke plume was probably what we visualize when we think of  Dante’s Inferno.  The sun made everything orange.  It was eerie.

So say a prayer for all the folks working the fire and all those evading it.  They need all the help they can get.  And please let me backtrack just a little.

