I’m really kind of new to this social media thing so sometimes I wonder if I have the rules straight.  And there are as many rules are there are media.  Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Flickr, and many more that I don’t even know about.  What’s a guy to do?

I climbed on this crazy merry-go-round in 2009 when I attended my 40th High School Reunion.  I got reacquainted with lots of folks I hadn’t seen in 4 decades and wanted to make sure I didn’t lose touch again.  Several of my old dear friends told me about Facebook so I agreed to give it a try.  And it’s been great!  I’ve been able to maintain contact with lots of my relatives and friends on a consistent basis, much more so than before.

When I heard about Twitter I was very skeptical.  At work one of my older co-workers and I made fun of people using twitter.  “I am sitting at my desk” went through the e-mails quite often when one of us needed a chuckle.  My friend and fellow photographer, Bret Edge, put a link to his Twitter files on his blog page and I started reading some of the tweets.  After a while I decided to give it a try.  And it stuck.

Lately I’ve been working with a newcomer to the social media world called Google+.  A lot of my photographer friends use G+ to display their work and I’ve come across the work of many other photographers there.  It’s a terrific resource and I’m glad I got onto it.

But how and why do I continue to use these forms of media?  Well here’s the bumper sticker version:

Facebook-This is where I socialize.  I keep up with friends and family here more than anywhere else.  I also post images here since it’s the quickest and easiest place to post and let folks know what I’m doing and what I’ve been shooting.  I have even been known to play some games (Words with Friends) here.  This is my social outlet.

Twitter-I use Twitter to keep up with the photographic communities.  Twitter is just a quick hitter with 140 characters maximum per message.  But I also post links to images that I post on the web and blog posts too.

Google+-This media is exclusively for photography.  The only things I currently do with G+ is view other photographers’ work and display some of my images.  I have several people in my “circles” here that are also friends on Facebook but as I said, G+ is exclusively for photography for me.  Lately I’ve had to bounce some folks out of my circles for posting non-photographic stuff.  Once in a while is okay but someone posting absolutely nothing photography related is gone.  Please don’t hold it against me…it’s a character flaw of mine.

One thing bothers me though.  And it may be related to what I just referred to regarding non-photographic posts.  It seems that some folks, mostly on Twitter and G+, put more emphasis on how many followers they have than on what content they post.  I guess that’s something I don’t understand.  Granted, I sometimes post some nonsense but usually because I’m going for a cheap laugh.  While I’d like for everyone to find what I have to say entertaining, frankly, I don’t really care if I have 25,000 followers or 25.

So there you have it.  That’s how I feel about social media, and the ones I use.  And for now, “I’m typing on my laptop.”

