This will be a much shorter one.  In a previous blog I gave the details leading up to the surgery I had today.  This one will detail the prep and procedure I went through for the past 2 days.  Again, I’m hoping all my male friends will take this to heart and have an annual physical.  Believe me, it might save your life.

Monday:  Prep day!  Whooooo hoooooooo! No solid foods after supper Sunday night. Didn’t sleep much Sunday night…not sure why but I had a raging headache.  Stress probably.  Anyway… Only clear liquids and plenty of them.  A little protein gained from Chicken Broth (It ain’t all that without a bag of chips) and some semi-solid stuff. (Jello)  By suppertime I would have killed someone for a Big Mac.  But I stuck with it.  The gals went out for supper and I met them afterwords to see the movie MoneyBall.  You would think I’d be able to get a discount since it’s the the Billy Bean(e) story but nooooo!  Oh well.  Decent movie but not one of my favorites.

Tuesday:  Implant day.  Up early, shower, brush teeth, take blood pressure meds with a small sip of water.  No food, no liquid prior to the surgery.  Still have the headache but I know I’m going to get a shot of Valium and then general anesthesia so the headache will probably be gone when I wake up.  Judy drove me to the Surgical Center, I filled out the paperwork, and away we went.  Got me one of them spiffy gowns open down the back and some compression stockings to prevent blood clots.  Went through Q&A with the surgeon, anesthesiologist, and the nurse, got my Valium, and went nightey night.  Woke up 1 1/2 hours later with 85 Palladium seeds in my prostate.  I’m pretty sure it glows in the dark but won’t know till later when it’s bedtime.

Bottom line:  Bowel prep is hell.  The initial biopsy was one of the top 5 worst things ever to happen to me.  The procedure was done while I was asleep so I don’t have any pain at this time.  Fact is, right now I feel pretty good.  Not sure how long that will last but we’ll see.  I went bowling Friday afternoon and my shoulder didn’t start aching till Sunday so tomorrow or Thursday I may not be in such great shape.

So once again, to all my male friends…I implore you to institute a program of annual physical exams up to and including blood work to check PSA, LDL, and LDS (or LSD if you’re a child of the 60’s like me).  As guys we have a chromosome that makes us all afraid of what a doctor will tell us.  I think the real fear is what avoiding checkups DOESN’T tell us.  I come from a family that has a history of colon cancer, lung cancer, and Alzheimer’s.  I started getting checked every year at age 40.  For 20 years, zero, zip, zilch….this year, prostate cancer.

As for me, I’m having a birthday in 10 days and my gift to myself is health.  I’m on light duty for a couple of weeks but once that time restriction has passed I’m going to get myself fit.  I figure I need to lose 30 pounds at least and my cardio-vascular needs a lot of work.  In an earlier bloghttp://wcbeanphoto.blogspot.com/search?updated-max=2011-05-10T20%3A03%3A00-07%3A00&max-results=7 I wrote about my difficulties getting up the hill at Klondike Bluffs in Arches National Park and at that time I vowed it would not be that way again.  I don’t expect to be able to run up the hill with Bret and Scott but I’ll get there.

I just hope all you guys out there will be able to get there with me.  CALL YOUR DOCTOR NOW!

